Halcyon is accepting applications for its Africa Innovation in Agriculture and Food Security Accelerator 2027, a hybrid programme for sub-Saharan African ventures. It is built for agri and food-security founders who have moved past the prototype and already earn revenue or run paid pilots. The first deadline is 23 October 2026, and each selected venture receives a $10,000 equity-free stipend and $10,000 in AWS credits.
At a glance
| Deadline | Initial consideration: 23 October 2026 (time zone not stated). Invitational round: 30 October 2026 |
| Who can apply | Ventures based in sub-Saharan Africa with a working MVP at paid-pilot or post-revenue stage |
| Benefit | $10K equity-free stipend and $10K AWS credits per venture, listed for the 2027 cohort |
| Format | Virtual kickoff on 9 February 2027, residencies in Accra and Nairobi |
| Cost to apply | No fee mentioned on the official page |
| Official page | Halcyon programme page |
Who can apply
The programme page sets a clear stage test. Your venture must be based in sub-Saharan Africa, have a working minimum viable product with realistic potential to scale, and be at the paid-pilot or post-revenue stage. Early commercial traction through paid pilots, revenue, customer contracts or similar proof of demand is required. The venture must also contribute to at least one of the UN Sustainable Development Goals.
On the team side, the applicant must be the CEO or hold primary decision-making power, and may apply with up to one co-founder. Applicants must work full time, be fluent in English, be at least 21 years old by the programme start and commit to every residency, event and session. The page lists nine focus areas, including climate-smart agriculture, farm productivity, water and irrigation, agricultural data, market access, agri-fintech, supply chain, post-harvest solutions and food security.
What you get
The 2027 cohort section lists a $10,000 equity-free stipend and $10,000 in AWS credits per venture. It also lists professional advisors, workshops on leadership development, capital strategy and product-market fit, and networking with investors and other stakeholders. The page does not state how many ventures will be selected.
Key dates
- 23 October 2026: initial consideration deadline.
- 30 October 2026: invitational deadline for applicants who pass the first review.
- 7 and 8 December 2026: pitch days.
- 18 December 2026: selection notices.
- 9 February 2027: virtual kickoff.
- 11 to 19 March 2027: first residency in Accra, Ghana.
- 28 May to 4 June 2027: second residency in Nairobi, Kenya.
How to apply
- Read the official programme page and check every criterion.
- Complete the eligibility form on the application platform that the programme page links to, before 23 October 2026.
- If you pass the first review, submit the second-round application by 30 October 2026.
- Pitch to the selection committee on 7 or 8 December 2026. Scoring covers impact, scalability, innovation and talent.
Advice from the Africapreneurs team
- Collect your proof of traction first. The page asks for paid pilots, revenue or customer contracts, so have those figures ready for the eligibility form.
- Name the SDGs your product serves and the focus area it fits. Impact is one of the four scoring criteria.
- Block the residency dates now. Accra from 11 to 19 March and Nairobi from 28 May to 4 June 2027 are part of the commitment, alongside full-time work on the venture.
- Settle the team question early. Only the CEO or main decision-maker applies, with at most one co-founder.
FAQ
Is there a fee to apply?
The programme page mentions no application fee.
Does Halcyon take equity?
The page describes the $10,000 stipend as equity-free.
Can an idea-stage startup apply?
No. The page requires a working MVP and a paid-pilot or post-revenue stage.




